Color and Cut

Yesterday my mother, sister, and nephew arrived at around 12:30pm. I had lunch waiting for them when they got in and after the ritual greeting and kissing my sweet nephew on his plump little cheeks we sat and enjoyed some food! This past Thursday my sister texted me and asked if I could set up a hair appointment for her while she was down here. Evidently she needed a cut STAT. Ironically (it must be the twin-ness in us) I needed one desperately too. So I called my usual salon and got us both in for 2pm. The salon ended up calling and asking if they could push back our appointment a half hour yesterday which-so-happened to make things more convenient as my sister had brought a blonde box dye that she wanted to complete before getting her cut.

So, after lunch my sister began the process of dying her hair. She uttered concerns of the results before beginning the process, but continued on anyways.While her hair was processing it was evident that the blonde she had hoped for was turning into more of a strawberry blonde color the likes of her son’s hair when he was born. What she was hoping for was the warm blonde tones he currently has as 18months! Sure enough after the conditioning, rinse out, and blow dry, the color was a strawberry blonde. At that point her gut instincts were mocking her decision while my mother and I were outwardly chuckling. Not that it actually looked that bad, but we knew it certainly wasn’t the color she was aiming for.

As we headed to the hair salon my sister started asking me if they’d be able to correct the color. I certainly didn’t know as per I am not a hair stylist or colorist, but my guess was they would most likely be able to do something at some point this weekend. I was called over first and informed the stylist that I wanted chunky layers put in and a smidge off the bottom layer. (I am currently in the aggravating and impatient process of attempting to grow my hair out after 10 years of having it super short) My sister got in with another stylist while my hair was being started. The stylist did a great job with mine and I love having some more layers put in. My fine thin hair needs all the help and trickery it can get to seem voluminous. The results are below!

Image

Once I was done with my cut I checked in with my sister. Her cut was also looking very cute! And, sure enough, she was able to get her color fixed after her cut. It ended up taking til’ dinner time, but it certainly looked significantly better when she was all done! While she stayed back to get the color done I headed back to the house with my mom and nephew. They ran around town while my sis and I were getting our cuts done, and while out my mom picked up a bubble mower for Sawyer to play with in the yard. So, when we got back to the house we busted out the mower and Sawyer had some fun in the yard watching the bubbles come out as he “mowed.” With the sun out in full force it began feeling really hot out! Poor Sawyer had a long sleeve shirt on so we took it off of him the last few minutes outside while playing with his mower. I couldn’t help but crack up watching him mow the yard shirtless like a real southern boy!

Image

As dinner time approached we all began brainstorming what we would like to do for supper. With the weather being impeccable my husband and I suggest a place called Abigail’s nearby. It is a restaurant on the lake where you can BYOB and sit outside watching the boats dock and the sun set. So, we packed a cooler and headed that way. It truly couldn’t have been a more perfect evening to sit outside and enjoy a meal. The temperature was perfect, the breeze not overbearing, the sun setting, the smell of bonfire wafting in the air, and a delicious meal awaiting. We shared a very tasty appetizer to begin with, and then our meals to follow. It was perfect. Beers, lakeside, and dinner–can’t beat it! 

Image

Image

Image

I enjoyed a chicken bacon ranch pita and some potato salad!

We headed back to the house after our meal and relaxed hanging out and catching up some more.

Unfortunately, in the midst of hanging out we received the news that our long time neighbor had passed away the night before. She had just lost her husband last year, and unfortunately her life also came to an end far too soon. A perfect night turned into one of grieving and reminiscing about how great of neighbors they were to our family all while growing up. It is painful to lose loved ones and those you know for such a long time. However, I find solace in knowing that she is now with her husband healthy and well again. It is my hopes that even with such news my mother, sister, and I can still find a way to enjoy the remaining time of their visit here while in town. In the meanwhile, I pray for Jane’s family and friends and hope they find the comfort they need during this difficult time.

Leave a comment